Skip to main content

Aline Sartor Chicowski and Ekkachai Khwanbua were selected for the 2023 IS-MPMI Shimamoto Travel Award

March, 24 - 2023

Aline Sartor Chicowski and Ekkachai Khwanbua, both Ph.D. students under Dr. Steven Whitham were selected for the 2023 IS-MPMI Shimamoto Travel Award. This competitive award is meant to help defray the costs of attending the 2023 IS-MPMI Congress in Providence, Rhode Island, USA.

About the A​​​ward

​The IS-MPMI Shimamoto Travel Awards are named in honor of Dr. Ko Shimamoto. Dr. Shimamoto made notable contributions to the fields of flowering and plant immunity that brought him respect and recognition worldwide. The awards are named in recognition for his service as the chair and main organizer of the XV International Congress of Molecular Plant-Microbe Interactions that was held in Kyoto in 2012. He played a critical role in promoting and developing MPMI research in Asia. The Kyoto Congress, he so successfully organized, was the first that IS-MPMI held in Asia. He is fondly remembered for his kind and gentle character, his dedication to his students, and his role as an inspiring and caring mentor. 

Congratulations Aline and Ekkachai!